About Us

Early in 1998, a number of head and neck oncologists from the disciplines of surgery, radiation oncology and medical oncology met in Sydney to discuss the feasibility of establishing a multidisciplinary head and neck society. A working party was formed and, following a number of meetings, invitations were sent to individuals in these three specialties to become foundation members of the Australian and New Zealand Head & Neck Society.

The initial business meeting was held on Dec 9, 1998 and at that time there were 60 foundation members. The Society adopted as its Constitution the Model Rules for Associations published by the Department of Fair Trading in NSW and the members agreed that their principal objectives would be to promote the practice of head and neck oncology, to educate medical colleagues and the public about our specialty, to foster research and to seek optimal treatment outcomes for our patients.

Members of the Executive Committee:

President A/Prof Julia Maclean, Speech Pathologist, Sydney
Vice President Dr Brian Stein, Medical Oncologist, Adelaide
Secretary Dr Tim Iseli, Otolaryngologist Head & Neck Surgeon, Melbourne
Treasurer Dr Michael Collins, Radiation Oncologist, Douglas, Townsville
Immediate Past President A/Prof Martin Batstone, Oral & Maxillofacial Surgeon, Brisbane
Dr Nicholas Marshall, Plastic Surgeon, Adelaide
Dr Tsien Fua, Radiation Oncologist, Victoria
Dr James Bowman, Otolaryngologist Head & Neck Surgeon, Brisbane
A/Prof Richard Gallagher, Head & Neck Oncology, Sydney
The Australian & New Zealand Head and Neck Society was incorporated in NSW on 2 February 2000.